National Honor Society Induction Ceremony


On March 14, 2018 the National Honor Society welcomed their new inductees. There were fifteen juniors and two seniors inducted during the ceremony. The new inductees were: Morgan Briand, Emily McCoy, Natalie Ammon, Logan Bell, Hailee Carpenter, Kathryn Chludzinski, Kyleen Culler, Reagan Emmerling, Joshua Entrikin, Karsyn Faulk, Katelyn Haifley, Madison Ketchum, Autumn Oehlstrom, Emmelea Powell, Chloe Smith, Marisa Spooner, and Sierra Zarnosky.

The ceremony began with the opening remarks given by Lauryn Todd. The inductees were then introduced by Alyssa Chestnut, Hannah DeLand, Eva DeRuyter, and Sarena Underwood. As they made their way to the stage, Sarah Perry placed a stole on each inductee and they received a candle from Kimberly Temple. Following this, Branson Brownfield, Samantha Tinsley, Brian Dickson, and Michael Simms explained the characteristics that each inductee needs to uphold as a NHS member. The characteristics are scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

The ceremony was concluded with the lighting of the candles. One person had trouble getting their candle to stay lit but everyone got a good laugh. After each candle was lit, the new inductees recited the NHS Pledge and extinguished their candles.