March Madness


March Madness is a NCAA Men’s Basketball tournament for the 64 best teams in the nation. The first games starts on March 14, 2017 when 2 teams of the last 4 will enter the tournament and hope to make something crazy happen. Once those 4 are in, then the madness begins. Starting with the round of 64, you’ll see some pretty easy wins but don’t count out these smaller schools to pull off the upset and ruin everybody’s “perfect bracket.” Next the remaining 32 teams play, where competition gets better and upsets are more likely to happen because teams are running off of the hype and momentum from tourney time. The tournament then comes to the Sweet 16, where usually the best teams are left. But sometimes that one team is having that “Cinderella Run” which usually is when it comes to an end. The Elite 8 folds down into the Final 4, and then down to The National Championship. One team gets to hold the coveted NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship!

This tournament began in March 17, 1939. The bracket changed to 68 teams back in 2011, making a merger from 64. Last year’s tournament ended with the Villanova Wildcats taking home the National Title. Most titles in tournament history belongs to UCLA with 11. Top 1 seeds are Villanova, Gonzaga, North Carolina and Kansas. Some familiar teams are in the tournament but there is a team making their first appearance in the tournament and that is The University of Northwestern. They are an 8th seed and want to make some noise as for what their men’s basketball program can do! So check out the tournament action and hope to see your favorite team make it to the National Championship… And let the madness begin!